Certification of Veterinary Technicians in Wyoming (Certified Veterinary Technician-CVT) is VOLUNTARY because the State of Wyoming does not list veterinary support staff in the Veterinary Practice Act. The Wyoming Veterinary Technician Association has taken on the role of setting the standards for a credentialed veterinary technician in the state and has maintained this list since 2004. This provides Wyoming with trackable numbers of credentialed, educated veterinary technicians.
The STANDARDS for this VOLUNTARY CERTIFICATION PROGRAM by the WYOMING VETERINARY TECHNICIAN ASSOCIATION require the following from each CVT to ensure quality patient care:
A Wyoming Certified Veterinary Technician (CVT) must always include all of the following:
- be a graduate of an AVMA accredited Veterinary Technician Program,
- be a member in good standing of the Wyoming Veterinary Technician Association (dues paid bi-annually),
- have successfully passed the VTNE (Veterinary Technician National Exam) as administered by the American Association of State Veterinary Boards (AAVSB). Passing score is determined by AAVSB - for each exam.
- the member’s official score receipt must be on file in the WyVTA office.
- continue to pursue education via online, onsite, or other accredited media to stay abreast of current veterinary issues (10 CE credit hours/2 years)
- maintain a professional, morally ethical demeanor and not misrepresent or undermine the WyVTA, the WyVMA, or the veterinary medical profession.
- If licensed, registered, or certified in another state, submission of verification of said credential and proof of good standing in that states' regulatory group (i.e. licensing group).
- Renewal of the members’ certificate every 2 years
CLICK HERE for the Certification Application
Certification is biannual – every 2 years – and based on a standard calendar year, January 1- December 31.
NOTE: You must be a current or applying member of the WyVTA to apply for certification or renew your certification. Please complete the membership application/dues biannually along with your certification at the same time.
*Active Renewal Certification is FREE if complete and received by the deadline (December 31); MUST INCLUDE your completed renewal membership application, membership fee, and your certification application(no fee).
*New Certification or Delinquent Re- Certification: $10 for the first 2 years OR expired certifications being renewed after December 31 deadline; renewal MUST INCLUDE your completed renewal membership application, membership fee, certification application, and $10 certification fee.